Forum Settings
This thread is locked

Uninstalling BetaFollow

#1 Sep 17 2010 at 3:29 PM Rating: Good
264 posts
OK so don't know if anyone else saw the announcement(don't have a link plus im at work) but it says to uninstall beta version prior to installing release version so that there are no problems with the installation. OK, but I have some questions. First, does that mean I need to remove the files as well, or just uninstall? Second, what about saving our char creation data and names for release? Won't uninstalling effect that, or not? Sorry if this has been covered already, but I just need some clarification.

Edited, Sep 17th 2010 3:48pm by Osarion Lock Thread: dupe thread
I also want double eyepatches, to increase my pirate bravado.
#2 Sep 17 2010 at 3:32 PM Rating: Decent
Uninstalling the game from your PC through the uninstall utility will remove the game files. It may preserve your saved character appearance files. It may not. I would imagine that will become more clear Sunday evening when the open beta ends and people start removing the client in preparation for launch.
#3 Sep 17 2010 at 3:32 PM Rating: Decent
37 posts
Just guessing, but I suspect the character names and servers that people had in beta are tied to their square enix id, which is separate rather than the files on your computer.

I believe when you login using your SE id, the game connects to the character server which looks up your stuff based on your ID.

so when you get the retail version, you will put the key in on the web probably after you login with your SE ID, and that will then let the retail client see that you are person X who was prevously using name Y on server Z in the beta, since your SEID won't change between now and release.
#4 Sep 17 2010 at 3:44 PM Rating: Good
152 posts
who was prevously using name Y

My name wasn't 'Y'. It wouldn't let me use less than 3 characters for a name:/
#5 Sep 17 2010 at 4:38 PM Rating: Decent
191 posts
Here's something that may help:

Also,when you do the uninstall,don't forget to manually delete any leftover stuff in My Docs/My Games.
Not doing that caused alot of problems between Alpha and Beta clients,so I assume it might cause problems here also.

Edited, Sep 17th 2010 6:41pm by Captzee
#6 Sep 17 2010 at 4:43 PM Rating: Good
9,526 posts
if you delete my docs stuff you may delete your saved character appearances
lolgaxe wrote:
When it comes to sitting around not doing anything for long periods of time, only being active for short windows, and marginal changes and sidegrades I'd say FFXI players were the perfect choice for politicians.

This thread is locked
This Forum is Read Only!
Recent Visitors: 17 All times are in CDT
Anonymous Guests (17)