Forum Settings
       
This Forum is Read Only

Name Taken... Forever!Follow

#1 Sep 22 2010 at 7:57 PM Rating: Decent
***
1,822 posts
Or is it? I remember on FFXI if you deleted a character, while it would back up and store your data the name became available. I assumed it would be the same in FFXIV and was having a friend reserve a name for me, but when he deleted the character it said it was unavailable. Very abstract name to, shouldn't have even had him reserve it (it's not this one btw). Does anyone know if the ability to use the name becomes available? Or if it's locked into his account forever? Anything can be done?
____________________________
Long Live Vana Diel.
#2 Sep 22 2010 at 8:00 PM Rating: Good
**
723 posts
I created a character tonight with a name I was interested in using, then decided I wanted to choose a different race. I deleted it and remade it with no problems.
#3 Sep 22 2010 at 8:12 PM Rating: Decent
Scholar
*
125 posts
Did he create the character when the game went live or was it created during Open Beta? If it was created during Open Beta then you will have to play on his account to use the name since it is saved to his account on that server. If you were to switch to another server I grantee you will be able to create a character with the name you want unless someone took it. But other then that if it was created and then deleted on live launch then just wait a bit then try. Like I said if it was created on Open Beta and you are trying to make the character on the same server as the character was created on, you will not be able to use the name unless you have access to his account.
____________________________
i'm just craptastic
#4 Sep 22 2010 at 8:25 PM Rating: Decent
***
1,822 posts
Trisdale wrote:
Did he create the character when the game went live or was it created during Open Beta? If it was created during Open Beta then you will have to play on his account to use the name since it is saved to his account on that server. If you were to switch to another server I grantee you will be able to create a character with the name you want unless someone took it. But other then that if it was created and then deleted on live launch then just wait a bit then try. Like I said if it was created on Open Beta and you are trying to make the character on the same server as the character was created on, you will not be able to use the name unless you have access to his account.


Yeah, he reserved it for me in Open Beta then deleted it just now in the retail version, but he did remake it in retail so... I dunno, will the servers really store open beta saved names forever? I'd think if he deleted it, it should come available.
____________________________
Long Live Vana Diel.
#5 Sep 22 2010 at 8:28 PM Rating: Good
***
2,204 posts
I always thought SE reserved deleted names for so long... I heard 3-6 months. No clue though.

In other words, if your friend deleted the name from his account... you might not be able to get it til SE releases it from hold... if they actually do that.
#6 Sep 22 2010 at 8:32 PM Rating: Decent
Scholar
**
751 posts
I hope the same isnt the case for LS names.

I have "reserved" 3 LS names for our guild leader with the intention of dropping the shell so that he can create the guild afresh. Hope the name immediately becomes available for the generation of the new LS!
____________________________
FFXIV: Crafty Hallie, Ultros





#7 Sep 22 2010 at 8:32 PM Rating: Decent
***
1,822 posts
PentUpAnger wrote:
I always thought SE reserved deleted names for so long... I heard 3-6 months. No clue though.

In other words, if your friend deleted the name from his account... you might not be able to get it til SE releases it from hold... if they actually do that.


That was character data and it was actually longer than that, but yeah on FFXI as soon as you deleted a character that name became available. I am 100% positive on this and have tested it before in the past.
____________________________
Long Live Vana Diel.
#8 Sep 22 2010 at 8:35 PM Rating: Decent
Scholar
*
125 posts
As far as I know all names created on Open Beta are reserved only to that account it was created on, from the sound of it as of right now it is permanent until maybe what PentUpAnger said 3-6 month's. But as I said from what SE said is all names used on Open Beta are reserved to that account and server.
____________________________
i'm just craptastic
#9 Sep 22 2010 at 9:01 PM Rating: Decent
***
1,822 posts
HallieXIV wrote:
I hope the same isnt the case for LS names.

I have "reserved" 3 LS names for our guild leader with the intention of dropping the shell so that he can create the guild afresh. Hope the name immediately becomes available for the generation of the new LS!


Ohh hey Hallie lol

No, it's not the case with linkshells. You didn't transfer it over from open beta so they should become available, + linkshell names aren't stored or anything like that and they are remade all the time, it has to be this way in case a leader quits and wants to transfer ownership, but is this an absolute? Nothing is absolute with Square Enix, but I wouldn't worry about this. Seems the open beta names get stored for a account, I'm just wondering for how long.
____________________________
Long Live Vana Diel.
#10 Sep 22 2010 at 9:28 PM Rating: Good
***
2,204 posts
EndlessJourney wrote:
PentUpAnger wrote:
I always thought SE reserved deleted names for so long... I heard 3-6 months. No clue though.

In other words, if your friend deleted the name from his account... you might not be able to get it til SE releases it from hold... if they actually do that.


That was character data and it was actually longer than that, but yeah on FFXI as soon as you deleted a character that name became available. I am 100% positive on this and have tested it before in the past.


You test it on your account only, because I KNOW you can delete a name on your account and automatically make a new character with the deleted name? Or did you have someone on another account try to get a name you recently deleted from another account?

Plus... things change. This is FFXIV, not FFXI. =P
#11 Sep 22 2010 at 10:09 PM Rating: Decent
***
1,822 posts
PentUpAnger wrote:
EndlessJourney wrote:
PentUpAnger wrote:
I always thought SE reserved deleted names for so long... I heard 3-6 months. No clue though.

In other words, if your friend deleted the name from his account... you might not be able to get it til SE releases it from hold... if they actually do that.


That was character data and it was actually longer than that, but yeah on FFXI as soon as you deleted a character that name became available. I am 100% positive on this and have tested it before in the past.


You test it on your account only, because I KNOW you can delete a name on your account and automatically make a new character with the deleted name? Or did you have someone on another account try to get a name you recently deleted from another account?

Plus... things change. This is FFXIV, not FFXI. =P


The latter, and I know this isn't FFXI but that's why I was assuming. A lot of things are like they were in FFXI on here. *shrug*
____________________________
Long Live Vana Diel.
This forum is read only
This Forum is Read Only!
Recent Visitors: 11 All times are in CST
Anonymous Guests (11)