Forum Settings
       
This Forum is Read Only

Name Saved...Forever!Follow

#1 Sep 26 2010 at 10:40 PM Rating: Decent
***
1,822 posts
Now, this is just a theory, I made a previous thread along the same lines but quite different some time ago and didn't want to bump it as it doesn't really follow what I've found out so far. However, back in Open Beta I had a friend of mine make a "mule" (one of the three available character slots) to save a name for me because I was originally planning on having four characters. Well, he did, then came the retail version and we started realizing maybe we didn't think it through well enough (yes yes, my fault) so when he made the character then deleted it, on our retail server (which is the same as our open beta server) it would not allow me to create a character with that name. I actually tried FIRST before he made it on the retail server then again after he made the character and deleted it. Each time it was a no go saying the name was not available and when he got to the beta member "previous name selection" menu it kept popping up...

Now what this makes me wonder is, how long the names are saved for? Perhaps it is through the first billing cycle? Perhaps it is for one month? Six months? More? Less? I'm not quite sure, but it's something to ponder on. If you created some characters in Open Beta you have to wonder, how long do those names remain yours? Perhaps... Forever?!

Edited, Sep 26th 2010 9:41pm by EndlessJourney
____________________________
Long Live Vana Diel.
#2 Sep 26 2010 at 10:56 PM Rating: Decent
Avatar
***
3,317 posts
Guess that means no Squallx Leonhart on Trabia. Wonder if that's a good thing...
#3 Sep 26 2010 at 11:53 PM Rating: Good
Hmmm, could mean that someone has already made a character with that name (though unlikely, unless you had your heart set on Cloudsquall Sephirothbarret or something).

While trying to pick a character I like, since they just HAD to look a little different in game than on the character creation screen, I've deleted a character and then remade one with the same name mere minutes later.
#4 Sep 27 2010 at 12:35 AM Rating: Decent
***
1,822 posts
Reiterpallasch the Flawless Victor wrote:
Hmmm, could mean that someone has already made a character with that name (though unlikely, unless you had your heart set on Cloudsquall Sephirothbarret or something).

While trying to pick a character I like, since they just HAD to look a little different in game than on the character creation screen, I've deleted a character and then remade one with the same name mere minutes later.


It's a very odd name, I've got no reason why I had him save it anyways, I'm sure no one else took it. Also, you can indeed recreate a character with the same name if it's your own, you might can even do so if the character's name was not transferred over from open beta but that's what I'm talking about.
____________________________
Long Live Vana Diel.
#5 Sep 27 2010 at 3:47 AM Rating: Decent
*
175 posts
Wait.. I'm pretty sure yesterday I saw a Selvaria Bles on Trabia.. but I had a character named Selvaria Bles on Palamecia... does the name save only on the same server used during beta..?
____________________________
| I still believe in FFXIV...
My name is pronounced "kai-neh" actually.. and yes, it is feminine..
#6 Sep 27 2010 at 3:54 AM Rating: Decent
Scholar
*
70 posts
I had to reroll my account because I had created it before I put the Onion Helmet code in. I was able to use the exact same name right after I deleted the character. One thing though, I wasn't able to recreate the linkshell name I made in Open Beta, it said the name was already in use when I tried to make it again. I deleted my Open Beta account and I'm not sure if the linkshell name was retained or if someone else just got the name before I did.
____________________________
FFXIV: Rocky Modin
Hyun Midlander M
Figaro Server
GLA/ARM/BLK

FFXI: Rockym
Hume M
Odin Server
75RDM/65NIN/59BST
#7 Sep 27 2010 at 4:18 AM Rating: Decent
***
1,822 posts
Linkshell names do not carry over, as far as I know as long as you're on the same account your name is saved, your name is only saved if the server you were on in open beta matches the retail server, this is all known. What I'm curious about is how long it stores your names it saves for a particular person who goes from open beta to retail on the same server. I'm wondering if it's forever or if it's just till the next billing cycle or, goodness knows.
____________________________
Long Live Vana Diel.
This forum is read only
This Forum is Read Only!
Recent Visitors: 17 All times are in CST
Anonymous Guests (17)