Bad news guys, I think you probably canceled the service itself and not the characters. If you canceled your service then you pretty much terminated IE "deleted" your account. I think during account creation or somewhere in the manual anyway, it states that if you cancel your service it terminates your account. To actually cancel the charges for FFXIV you need to actively cancel your characters, not the service. It's pretty much the same for your POL account. If you chose to shut down your POL account it terminates your service (And account.) altogether. In this case all you can do is contact SE and try to get them to restore your service then manually cancel each character. Good luck.
EDIT: Just looked thru it. Apparently your account isn't actually lost. When you cancel the FFXIV service account it cancels it and you are no longer allowed access. However you CAN still use characters until their expiration. To do so, you need to reactivate the account. NA manual, Pg.21.
In short, just cancel the the characters via the Options on the service account page. To permanently cancel the account after just deactivate it again. But in order to keep logging into the account you MUST keep the service account active until the character expiration. My curiosity however is if they still charge a $9.99 base fee even if no characters are active but the service account is.
Edited, Oct 10th 2010 8:00pm by SamusKnight
FINAL FANTASY XIV Roleplayer
Sair Gammonari - Hyur Midlander Male - Conjurer (Somewhat retired.)
Mihana Zhralyia - Miqo'te Seeker of the Sun Female - Archer