When deleting it makes you wait 30 seconds before you can confirm deletion. First you hit the button, select the character, then it ask if you wanna delete them. Choose yes and you've got a 30 second countdown before the confirm button lights up. Hit that and it's good-bye character. Personally I've never ran into any issues with it being where it is. It's near impossible to mistakenly delete a character unless you're really really drunk and/or are trying be a daredevil. But in that case you'd just deserve it...
EDIT: Here's the process, after hitting delete it makes you choose a character. The next step gives you a confirmation message saying they cannot be recovered, and if you wanna delete them. Hitting yes brings you to a new box with a 30 second countdown and a warning about not being able to recover it. After 30 seconds you can hit the delete button (confirm I think.) and it erases the character. Unlike FFXI where you could hold down a key or button to rapidly decrease the countdown you're forced to wait it out.
Edited, Nov 19th 2010 2:43am by SamusKnight
FINAL FANTASY XIV Roleplayer
Sair Gammonari - Hyur Midlander Male - Conjurer (Somewhat retired.)
Mihana Zhralyia - Miqo'te Seeker of the Sun Female - Archer